Composites UK names new board members

Composites UK has announced the five people appointed to its 2022 board of directors by member companies.

The board is made up of 11 directors and others co-opted in specialist areas, who are also members of Composites UK. Each director is nominated for a term of two years, the organization said.

New members for 2022–2024 are:

  • Dr Clara Frias, Advanced Manufacturing Research Centre (AMRC)
  • Joe Summers, Airborne Composites Ltd
  • Dr Faye Smith, Avalon Consultancy Services
  • Jen Hill, B&M Longworth
  • Dominic Hopwood, SHD Composites

Dr Frias, Summers, Dr Smith and Hopwood have been re-elected.

“I’m so pleased and excited to be joining this board of industry professionals! I strongly feel that we, the UK composites industry can succeed, through collaboration and true partnership, with the backing of a sound and proactive trade association,” said Hill.

The rest of the board are:

  • Luke Vardy, Cygnet Texkimp
  • Jonathan Howard, Dura Composites
  • Alan Banks, Ford Motor Company (Chairman)
  • Ben Wilson, MPM Ltd
  • Matt Bradney, Prodrive
  • Adam Black, Technical Fibre Products
  • Andrew Hopcraft, National Composites Centre (Co-opted - Catapult representative)
  • Steven Brown, Scott Bader Company Ltd (Co-opted - sustainability specialist)
  • Scott Tolson (Co-opted – finance)

Composites UK said that John Toner, Teledyne CML Composites, who left the board, had “made an invaluable contribution to help steer the association over the past few years as a director but also as Chairman since 2020.”